8 new candidates enter Iran presidential election race

IRAN, Jun. 01 :– Iranian politicians registered Saturday as a possible candidate in the Islamic Republic’s June 28 presidential election.

Iranian politicians Masoud Pezeshkian, Alireza Zakani, Seyyed Ahmad Rasoulinejad, Habibollah Dahmardeh, Sayyid Mohammad-Reza Mirtajodini, Fada-Hossein Maleki , Zohreh Elahian and Vahid Haghanian registered Saturday as a possible candidate in the Islamic Republic’s June 28 presidential election.

Masoud Pezeshkian is an Iranian politician who is currently representing Tabriz, Osku and Azarshahr electoral district in the Parliament of Iran, and also served as its First Deputy Speaker from May 29, 2016 to May 26, 2020. He was Minister of Health between 2001 and 2005.

Vahid Haghanian is one of the former military commanders who has been active in recent years as the deputy for special affairs in the office of the Leader of Islamic Revolution.

Seyyed Ahmad Rasoulinejad is a politician and a representative of Damavand and Firozkoh electoral district in the 11th term of the Islamic Council.

Alireza Zakani is an Iranian politician who is current mayor of Tehran since 2021.

Habibollah Dahmardeh is the governor of Sistan and Baluchestan, Lorestan and Kerman provinces and a member of the Islamic Parliament of Iran in the tenth and eleventh terms.

Sayyid Mohammad-Reza Mirtajodini is an Iranian cleric and conservative politician. He was vice president for parliamentary affairs from 2009 to 2013 and a member of the parliament in two terms, from 2004 to 2009 and from 2020 to 2024.

Zohreh Elahian is an Iranian conservative politician who served as a member of the Parliament of Iran from 2008 to 2012 and also from 2020 to 2024.

So far, Mohammadreza Sabaghian, Mostafa Kavakebian, Abbas Moqtadaei, Ghudrat Ali Hashemtian, Abdonnaser Hemmati , Saeed Jalili and Ali Larijani have registered, Mohsen Eslami, the spokesperson for Iran’s election headquarters announced on Friday.

The registration process for the 14th round of Iran’s presidential election kicked off on May 30.


About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow by Email